Galleries Index > LAMM 2007 - Sunday

Number of photos: 38

Mid camp 6am Sunday morning Mid camp 6am Sunday morning Mid camp 6am Sunday morning Chasing start, the overnight leaders of the Elite, A and B course head off The leading Elite and B teams racing each other on the climb out of mid camp A mixed team! Race Director Martin Stone enjoying his porridge at mid camp Vicki Maynard and Colin Kirkman packing up at mid camp prior before heading off on the B course Martin Perry and Christopher Burn waiting to start in fourth position in the chasing start – they gained one place to come in third Nick Lowe and Paul Keen set off in the chasing start in second position on the D – they dropped back to sixth on Day 2 but won the vets prize Ewan and Robbie Paterson leaving the chasing start John Earl and Jon Davies, the C course winners, on the fifth leg – the two teams in front of them had just missed the previous control, no. 155 Ewan and Robbie Paterson ran strongly on Day 2 to move up to second place Matthew Davis and Chris Beadle maintained their Day 1 lead to win the B course Overnight D course leaders, Iain Walker and Tim Allen approach their fifth control Jeremy Edwards carrying his partners’ sack – the strategy worked as they maintained second position on the B Punching at the fifth D control on a col below Ben Challum Kerstin Leslie and father James had a good Day 2, rising to seventh place and taking the mixed team prize The D team of Craig Marsden and David Lydgate put the skates on to climb from 17th to 8th place Teams tackle a long contour above the glen that leads back to the finish A cheerful team going well Holly Williamson and Catherine Brennan overtake Martin Bath and Christian Malan on the C course (but were passed again before the finish) A Novice team negotiate an electric fence – site of their third control Teams cross a washed out gully Where to next? A team at control no. 162, a knoll A pair arrives at control no. 162, shared by Elite and C Approaching control 162, the fifth C control A team approach a lochan control shared by A and B teams Sarah Rowell and Wendy Dodds at the sixth control on the A course – they lost half an hour finding the next one, but were the first female team home That way to the finish Heading downhill towards the event centre, where the marquee and tents can be seen below Many teams fell on this slippery slope on the way to the last control A pair enjoys good running down to the final control under the railway viaduct The winning Elite mixed team finished after the prize giving A pair show team spirit on the finish run in Martin Stone thanks controller Andy Spenceley at the prize giving Tony Waterhouse of the Scottish Agricultural College (whose land was used for the event centre), Martin Stone and Dave Suddes of Lowe Alpine presented the prizes The Elite winners Jonathan Aylward and Stephen Bottomley with pieces of the LAMM trophy, which had been broken in transit

Please join the LAMM email mailing list to receive regular updates about the LAMM

Route planning above Loch Duich

The clouds over mid camp

Racing together - the spirit of the event

Lowe Alpine Mourne Mountain Marathon